Shawl is Finished – Ethereal Grace

4 09 2016

I finished a shawl in a record eight days and got it blocked this evening.

Sun04Sep16 007

The shawl being blocked.

Detail of center spine.

Detail of center spine.

Detail of edge.

Detail of edge.

I used 700 yards of mint green Aunt Lydia’s #10 Crochet cotton and U.S. size 8 (5mm) needles. I didn’t measure the shawl, but it looks to be about 50″ x 27″. It is a gift for the spouse’s youngest daughter who is visiting with her new baby daughter from out-of-state.

The shawl is a combination of two different patterns, Grace by Velvet Dishon (the leaves), a spine pattern I added, and Ethereal by Lakshmi Juneja (the edge) and is worked from the top (long edge) down. I just can’t do a pattern completely as given.

I have to admit I’m pleased with the results.

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 09 2016
dayphoto

What a beautiful shawl!

Linda

Like

23 09 2016
Aquila

Thank you. What’s your favorite color? I’ll send you one.

Liked by 1 person

24 09 2016
dayphoto

OH! My heavens! How wonderful! Blue. Or lavender. How sweet of you.

Liked by 2 people

25 09 2016
Aquila

I’ve got a lovely lavender – if I can find it (I know it’s jammed in a storage unit right now). I saw a gorgeous soft blue, like the summer sky the other day. It’ll be a surprise but one of the two. I will include care instructions and email you when I send it. I’ve got another going in a pretty sage green, there will be photos when I finish it. They’re fun to do. Have a beautiful day.

Like

4 09 2016
Jessica

That shawl is so gorgeous!!! I am a beginner knitter… How long have you been knittng? Haha maybe if I practice for 20 years straight, then I can make something like what you are making (all I can do is knit and purl…)Gonna check out the rest of your blog!!
https://poshpennychic.wordpress.com

Like

4 09 2016
Aquila

I taught myself to knit at 10 years of age, it’s been awhile. I haven’t knit every year of it. The shawl is not difficult. If you can do a knit and purl, you’re well on your way. The rest of the stitches are yarn over, knit two together (k2tog), slip one, knit one, pass the slipped stitch over, and a very few slightly larger decrease stitches. There are very good videos available on You Tube that would help you learn the other stitches you need as well as how to read a chart – it’s not difficult, just a little confusing at first and once you figure it out it’s nothing. Take some odd bits of yarn and give it a try, lace knitting uses stitches you end up using in making garments too, just uses finer yarn and (usually) smaller needles. I did try this pattern with the recommended size needles and it just was too small. Thank you for the compliment, it is appreciated.

Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

