What makes you strong?

15 08 2015

This is a magnificent piece. I make sure to stay up to date reading this blog, Celi is a wonderful writer and human being.
There is that powerful strength in each of us, but she said it better than I could. Read it, follow her blog. Read the comments. The Fellowship is just as incredible.

thekitchensgarden

What gives you that last ounce of strength?  What makes you reach for the impossible and win? What gives us the ability to tap that secret cache of power we all hold.  What enables us to survive.  To push through when the odds are so stacked against us it feels like hail in our faces. pigs

My friend, who looks after her aging father, told me yesterday that he fell and she caught him, he is 200 pounds, she is my size, she caught him and held him up for as long as it took for him to get his feet from out under the fall so she could lower him to the ground safely.  She said this was about 6 or 7 minutes as he struggled but felt like an age. But she did not drop him. She found an untapped strength that both frightened and amazed her.

This strength is in…

View original post 703 more words

Actions

Information

15 responses

30 12 2015
Eddie Two Hawks

Wishing you a most Happy New Year Aquila. Thank you for all your kindness throughout the past year. May your future always be bright and overflowing with happiness. love, Eddie

Liked by 1 person

30 12 2015
Aquila

A most marvelous New Year to you too Eddie. And thank you for the thought provoking or comforting posts with the beautiful photography. I only wish things were better than they are, circumstances far beyond my control or influence. I appreciate your kind wishes and will take them as an indication of vast improvements to come. All the best, Aquila.

Liked by 1 person

10 11 2015
GP Cox

Will you be coming back to Blogsville here with us?

Like

10 11 2015
Aquila

I’ve tried to do some writing, however, my situation has not improved, if anything it has degraded. After the 17th it’s possible I will end up booted out of my home of 46 years, without having managed to remove all my possessions and still no place to live. Spending the upper Midwest winter in a pickup truck with the spouse and an elderly dog is very likely. I have managed to keep up with the blogs I follow, but that too may be beyond me soon. I had mortgaged my free and clear house to purchase a going business that was grossing over a half million a year in 2006, 2007 went almost that well, 2008 was under a quarter million, we closed at the end of April 2009 and wouldn’t have grossed even one hundred thousand for the year if we’d stayed open. I did all the right things, my CPA was shocked, the killer was the economy and the jobs lost by my customers. They would come in asking what they could do. The business was supposed to pay back the loan from me which would have paid off the mortgage. That didn’t happen. The whole mess could have been prevented, all I needed was a job but after 6 years of submitting application after application (I lost count after 5,000), I had two emails thanking me for my application and one phone interview which ended with the conclusion that I seemed to be vastly overqualified, I told them that it was to their advantage, they wouldn’t have to wonder if the job would be done properly, but they decided it made a huge difference, so no job. So I’ve been packing what I can, moving it to a storage unit and praying I can pay for that, get a job somehow and a place to live. The spouse is disinclined to do much to help. I’m disabled as well but don’t qualify for any kind of assistance, I did try. I can’t really plan on anything except saving as much of what I have left as possible, even tho I will end up having to sell most of it, but if I don’t have it I can’t sell it. Right now it’s very difficult to maintain a positive outlook. I know I need help and there just doesn’t seem to be any to be had.

Like

11 11 2015
GP Cox

I don’t know what to say – I’ve known many people who have been in serious trouble – but ….. you have me speechless.

Like

11 11 2015
Aquila

What really makes it maddening is that what was needed was so blasted simple. A job. Granted, with the physical disability it eliminated anything that required standing for more than a couple minutes. I’m not in a wheelchair but my mobility isn’t good. I know there are a lot of disabled people in wheelchairs with good jobs. All I really need is a decent high-back adjustable office chair. The level of frustration is miserable to deal with. I’ve reached the point I don’t know what to do anymore. I had a YouCaring appeal which was renewed twice but only got $45.00 of the $3,000.00 goal. Sure doesn’t make me feel very good. Doesn’t help that the spouse is almost useless either.

Like

12 11 2015
GP Cox

Try contacting Col. Mike Grice – he might have answers that I do not…

http://orderstonowhere.com/

Like

12 11 2015
Aquila

I’m not a veteran, my father was a WWII vet, the spouse is. I don’t know if I would be able to garner cooperation. I will contact Col. Grice. Thanks.

Liked by 1 person

5 09 2015
dayphoto

I so love your header!! It looks like the fellowship is here also!

Linda
http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Liked by 1 person

5 09 2015
Aquila

It was taken at the end of June, 2008 in Denver along one of the expressways while I was there for a trade show. It was a glorious sunset and I was just sitting on the frontage road with the traffic whizzing by across the guard rail. I’d love to be able to go back to Colorado and see more. I’m glad to see some of the Fellowship popping in to visit me too.

Liked by 1 person

5 09 2015
kateshrewsday

A wonderful post,and most apt! Hope all is well with you, and thanks for your comments the other day.

Liked by 1 person

5 09 2015
Aquila

Celi is a marvelous writer and photographer. Glad you enjoyed the repost. I very much enjoy your writing and photos too.

Like

19 08 2015
Grannymar

Like you, I am a regular follower of thekitchensgarden and love the way Celi has with words. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Like

19 08 2015
Aquila

Thanks for visiting mine. Best wishes for an excellent result with your coming surgery. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Like

19 08 2015
Grannymar

Thank you, with so many people thinking and caring about me, I should be fine!

Like

Leave a Reply

